Aside

To Claw or not To Claw

Hey guys πŸ™‚

I have a post here for you about my claws πŸ˜€ And hopefully it will help you out with if you would try getting it done or not πŸ™‚

So…after seeing so many photos of Lady Gaga, Rihanna and others on Tumblr I started to want them! And also after not being able to grow my nails for long because they keep breaking 😦 I decided to finallyΒ get it done. After finding out that Shades here in Limerick were having a special offer for gel nails (gel nails were 30 instead of 50) I jumped to it and booked an appointment. The appointment was last week I think, I’m very forgetful hehe. I went there thinking that they put the gel on you to the shape you wanted but found out that they first use fake nails and get the right ones for each nail. Then you tell the nail technician what length you want it.

I had a photo for reference and she did it perfectly. After picking the right acrylic for each finger, she individually glued the top bit to the tip of your nail. Then she filed it down so there aren’t any bumps or anything. She then starts the process with the gel. and after she puts a thick coat of the gel she then tells you to put it under the UV light thingy majigee and it kinda burns a little but if it does just press it down a bit. It feels weird but it’s just for a few seconds. Not too bad πŸ™‚

Then she checks to see if it’s all levelled…and if it isn’t she puts a little bit more of the gel and then it’s under the UV light your nail goes πŸ™‚ Then she puts on some base coat, the colour you want, and the top coat. When she puts the base coat on you gotta put your nail under the UV light and that dries it…gotta do it every time πŸ™‚ My appointment was at 2 and I came out almost two hours later. I now know why it would cost €50. It’s a lot of hard work and concentrating to get it just right. I’d say her neck hurt at the end of it because she was looking down most of the time. Kinda felt bad but she did a brilliant job! πŸ™‚ I definitely recommend going to her at Shades Hair and BeautyΒ Β 

So far I love my nails…have gotten used to them now and it’s just like my own nails….well I guess they are haha πŸ™‚ But they’re supposed to last for 3 weeks. Happy to know…I can have long nails now for ages. I asked the nail technician if I could paint them with normal nail varnish. She said not really but if I do to not let it touch the cuticle. So I decided to do that but…I needed to get the nail varnish I had on already. I googled if you could use normal nail varnish with gel nails and the two blogs I checked out said that you can and that you can take off the nail polish with non-acetate nail varnish remover. So I tried it with my Bourjois Nail Miracle thingy and..it didn’t take it off :/ The colour won’t budge. So I decided to get a nail polish and go over it. It didn’t really do much. I guess if I wanted to get a different colour on my nails I’d have to go back to her. I don’t have the money for that. So I guess I will stick with this colour till I either get them removed or get a refill.

Oh yes that reminds me…if you want to get your gel nails removed you gotta get it removed professionally. And you’re nails will be a bit damaged after it but I guess I don’t care as much because my nails weren’t that healthy anyways and I had to have my nails cut short :/

So…would I recommend getting it done. Yes if you can’t grow your nails and if you don’t mind them being damaged. They are great and look great! I love my claws anyways hehe πŸ™‚

If you live in Limerick definitely go to Shades.

https://instagr.am/p/SYUm7SGMZ_/media/?size=l

https://instagr.am/p/SfyzO2GMXT/media/?size=l

Anyways…what do you think guys? Do you like gel nails? Do you like claws/tallons? Would you ever get it done? To read an update check out this blog post

You are Beautiful!

A

By the way guys! We were featured on Nia’s wonderful Blog CherryFashion. Check out her post on us and the questions we answered! I’m so happy that she wanted to feature us and appreciate it a lot! And guys…go follow her! Also she has a YouTube channel so go and check it out and Subscribe.Β 

Thank you Nia! πŸ˜€

One thought on “To Claw or not To Claw

  1. Pingback: Nails…Nails..Nails | Elizabeth's Beauty

Leave a Reply

